SPEEA Committees
Council Committees Constitutional Committees
SPEEA Council Committees
Diversity Committee

Chair: Theryl (TJ) Johnson - 425-237-5571
Vice-Chair: Behyar Goudarzian - 206-662-1116
Secretary: Emmanuel Domingo - (425) 717-0101

Meeting Time: 2nd Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) / 6 p.m. (Central Time)

This committee is chartered to foster diversity within SPEEA and provide an avenue for addressing the problems and issues associated with a lack of understanding diversity that may lead to discrimination and harassment. This committee works on providing information and education to increase members understanding and to promote union involvement with all segments of SPEEA members.

Governing Documents Committee

Chair: Doug Brazeal - 425-865-3416
Vice-Chair: Deena Hougham - 425-234-6953
Secretary: Jeff Forbes - 425-237-6582

Meeting Time: 3rd Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) / 6 p.m. (Central Time)

Develops changes it deems necessary, based on its own review of the SPEEA Governing Documents and/or request of the SPEEA Council or other governing body. Reviews SPEEA Council action for inclusion in the SPEEA Policy Manual. Reviews and recommends policy on association, affiliation and merger. Recommends affiliation/merger with other unions. Recommends and proposes new policies as the need arises. Prior to any printing of the SPEEA Governing Documents and/or any amendments thereto, the final draft of said publication must be certified in writing by the Chairman or designee of the SPEEA Governing Documents Committee.

Leadership Development and Training Committee

Chair: Doug Brazeal - 425-865-3416
Vice-Chair: Gordon Yip - 206-653-4153
Secretary: John Dimas - 425-965-6812

Meeting Time: 1st Tuesday of every month at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) / 6 p.m. (Central Time)

Responsible for generating pathways for SPEEA leadership development and training, and creating a well-informed, motivated, respected, and highly-skilled group of member activists to fill leadership positions throughout our organization. Responsible for planning, implementing, and providing services, facilities, and manpower for seminars, leadership training, and other educational meetings.

Legislative and Public Affairs Committee

Chair: R Matthew Joyce - 316-207-7121
Vice-Chair: Emily Forest - 316-523-5201
Secretary: Michelle Gramke - 316-523-2732

Meeting Time: 3rd Monday of every month at 3:30 p.m. (Pacific Time) / 5:30 p.m. (Central Time)

Analyzes pending federal legislation, politicians and political candidates’ positions as they relate to SPEEA goals and objectives. Responsible for compliance with SPEEA Policy Manual Section on legislative actions, endorsements and objectives. Reviews IFPTE and AFL-CIO legislative activities and recommends direction to delegates. 

Organizational Planning Committee

Chair: Nikolas Geiselman - 425-294-1457
Vice-Chair: John Dimas - 425-965-6812
Secretary: Michelle Cooper - 253-657-7799

Meeting Time: 3rd Tuesday of March, June, Sept., and Dec. at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) / 6 p.m. (Central Time)

SPEEA Organizational Planning Committee - Develops, plans and investigates mergers, associations and organizational campaign with other aerospace employees and unions. This committee will coordinate affiliation, merger and association activities with the SPEEA Governing Documents Committee.

Stephen Pezzini H.O.P.E. Award Committee

Chair: (to be determined)

Meeting Time: Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019 — 4 to 6 p.m. (Pacific)

Responsible for the solicitation of nominations, review and selection of the recipient for the Stephen Pezzini H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Excel) honor. This is to recognize a person who gives time, effort and benefits to the general community, as well as being an active SPEEA member beyond expectations. This award is to be given no less than annually, to a recipient at the yearly Regional recognition banquets.

Veterans Committee

Chair: Jeff Forbes 425-237-6582
Vice-Chair: Geoff Case 425-293-7904
Secretary: Craig Kowald 425-717-6068

Meeting Time: 4th Thursday of every other month Sept. 2018 through July 2020 (3rd Friday of Nov. 2018 and 2019)

4-5:30 p.m. (Pacific)
6-7:30 p.m. (Central)

Provides an avenue for addressing the problems and issues associated with SPEEA's military employees, veterans and their families. Provides information and education to increase SPEEA member's understanding of veterans' and their families issues. Works with the IFPTE Veterans' Committee to influence national positions, congressional legislation and administrative rulemaking.

Constitutional Committees
Judicial Review Committee (JRC)

Term 2017-2020: Geoffrey Case 425-293-7904
Term 2018-2021: Craig Kowald 425-717-6068
Term 2019-2022: Jessica Nellis 316-526-3842

Meeting Time: Convenes when called upon by any member of the committee

This committee is responsible for interpreting the SPEEA Constitution and By-Laws, and of acting as the final hearing body for charges within SPEEA as defined in the Constitution. Consisting of three members who, within the past five years, served as a member of the Executive Board, the Council(s), Tellers Committee(s), the Judicial Review Committee, Council Committees, or any combination thereof, for at least two years. Members of the JRC are elected by the SPEEA Council. The Executive Board is responsible for submitting at least three names of qualified members for a vacancy on the JRC to the SPEEA Council.

SPEEA Tellers Committee


Meeting Time: Convenes when called upon by the chair, or by majority of the committee

The SPEEA Tellers Committee shall have the responsibility and authority for the conduct of all SPEEA elections, Constitutional amendments, and referendums; serves as a hearing body for all charges related to SPEEA elections Constitutional amendments, and referendums and ratifications and has the authority to resolve such charges; and is involved in the process of SPEEA's financial audit performed at the end of each fiscal year.