SPEEA Council Committees

Visit the online calendars for the most current dates and times.

Diversity Committee

Diversity Committee web page

Chair: Sandra Hastings - (425) 717-6980 - Email Sandy
Vice-Chair: Stephanie Kolb - (425) 263-7922 - Email Stephanie
Secretary: Lynn Burow- (425) 373-2592 - Email Lynn

Meeting Time:
Second Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time)

This committee is chartered to foster diversity within SPEEA and provide an avenue for addressing the problems and issues associated with a lack of understanding diversity that may lead to discrimination and harassment. This committee works on providing information and education to increase members understanding and to promote union involvement with all segments of SPEEA members.

Governing Documents Committee

Governing Documents Committee web page

Chair: Walt Ditlefsen - (425) 965-6667
Vice-Chair: Theryl Johnson- (425) 237-5571
Secretary: Jimmie Mathis - (425) 223-1373

Meeting Time: 3rd Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time)

Develops changes it deems necessary, based on its own review of the SPEEA Governing Documents and/or request of the SPEEA Council or other governing body. Reviews SPEEA Council action for inclusion in the SPEEA Policy Manual. Reviews and recommends policy on association, affiliation and merger. Recommends affiliation/merger with other unions. Recommends and proposes new policies as the need arises. Prior to any printing of the SPEEA Governing Documents and/or any amendments thereto, the final draft of said publication must be certified in writing by the Chairman or designee of the SPEEA Governing Documents Committee.


Leadership Development & Training Committee

Chair: Orlando De Los Santos - (425) 965-1797
Vice-Chair: Sandy Hastings - (425) 717-6980
Secretary *pro-tem: Rogelio Garcia - (206) 662-0752

Meeting Time: 1st Tuesday at 5 p.m. (Pacific Time)

Responsible for generating pathways for SPEEA leadership development and training, and creating a well-informed, motivated, respected, and highly-skilled group of member activists to fill leadership positions throughout our organization. Responsible for planning, implementing, and providing services, facilities, and manpower for seminars, leadership training, and other educational meetings.

Legislative and Public Affairs Committee

Legislative & Public Affairs Committee web page

Chair: James Raskob - (425) 266-4571
Vice-Chair: Judy Mogan - (253) 347-7151
Secretary: Sandy Hastings - (425) 717-6980

Meeting Time: 3rd Monday at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) and 6 p.m. (Central Time)

Analyzes pending federal legislation, politicians and political candidates’ positions as they relate to SPEEA goals and objectives. Responsible for compliance with SPEEA Policy Manual Section on legislative actions, endorsements and objectives. Reviews IFPTE and AFL-CIO legislative activities and recommends direction to delegates. 

Organizational Planning Committee

Chair: Walt Ditlefsen - (425) 965-6667
Vice-Chair: Robert (Bill) Sutton - (425) 266-9693
Secretary: Jimmie Mathis - (425) 223-1373

Meeting Time: 3rd Tuesday of March, June, September, and December at 4 p.m. (Pacific Time) and 6 p.m. (Central Time)

SPEEA Organizational Planning Committee - Develops, plans and investigates mergers, associations and organizational campaign with other aerospace employees and unions. This committee will coordinate affiliation, merger and association activities with the SPEEA Governing Documents Committee.

Stephen Pezzini H.O.P.E. Award Committee

Chair: (to be determined)

Meeting Time:
(to be determined)

Responsible for the solicitation of nominations, review and selection of the recipient for the Stephen Pezzini H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Excel) honor. This is to recognize a person who gives time, effort and benefits to the general community, as well as being an active SPEEA member beyond expectations. This award is to be given no less than annually, to a recipient at the yearly Regional recognition banquets.

SPEEA Committees

SPEEA Tellers Committee

Chair: Richard Duncan - (425) 418-6735
Lynda Maynard - (425) 965-9116

Judicial Review Committee

Bill Hartig - (316) 526-2360 (Term 2012-2015)
Vacant (Term 2013-2016)
Vacant (Term 2014-2017)

Meeting Time: Meets when needed